We Don’t Have Forever

Four simple but very powerful words. 

I received some health news about a high school friend of mine a few days ago, and it has really impacted me.  Sometimes I forget I am eligible for senior discounts…the news about my friend reminded me of that blessed, but sobering fact.

I’ve written in the past asking, “what is in your dash”? We are born one day and everything that happens to us after that point up until the day we die is captured within that dash.  The ebbs and flows of life and all of the life events that occur, they all determine how fulfilling our lives are – but in whose opinion?  Are you pleased with the life you have led up to now or are you a people pleaser, living your life seeking the approval of others?  When you die, the decisions captured within that dash will be your own, and the impact realized will be as a result thereof.

I decided a long time ago to live my life for me, using the principles set forth in my faith and in my relationship with my Higher Power as a guide.  That is not to say I have not made mistakes in my life; I have had some unfortunate knee-jerk reactions to a life experience or two, but for the most part, I am happy with the life I have led.  Truthfully, the mistakes I made have taught me the most but I know one day, it will all end – I don’t know when and that is a good thing. If I knew when, I would likely do things with questionable motives, but because I don’t know, I continue to live life the best way I know how, enjoying the gift of life and good health, while attempting to limit regrets and instances where I have to apologize for causing hurt to anyone.  I have finally understood that I don’t have to entertain toxicity because of from whom it comes…if you bring me stress, I will distance myself from you as quickly and respectfully as I can.  I understand the difference between honoring my commitments and being taken advantage of.  My maturity has given me wisdom that youth can only envy, and I walk proudly in it. 

In the meantime, I pray for the full recovery of my dear, longtime friend and ask that you do the same.  Every friendship I have is a true gift and I am grateful.  My word for 2024 has been “intentional” and I will intentionally live each day knowing that today is called the present because it is a gift.  I will not squander any day I am blessed to see, because the truth of the matter is simply, we don’t have forever.

#beingAngela2024

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑