“One Day” to “Day One”

I am still on a high from my birthday weekend. It was busy and definitely one for the books. It started out as a casual mention to my sister Tracie about how I wanted to plan a trip for my birthday. We kicked around a couple of thoughts and then my sister-friend Trish mentioned perhaps scheduling a trip for her birthday in June. I figured we could celebrate together so I started kicking around ideas with her. Eventually, that conversation lost steam and my sister was still persistent in her ask of what my birthday plans were. It was then that I began to recognize that this year was supposed to be spent with my biological sister.

We started kicking around thoughts but I was running out of time to plan something, so I needed to keep it simple. I suggested coming to visit her in Connecticut (my birth-state) and she agreed. I would come in that Friday and head back home that Monday. My sister is very thoughtful, so she made the suggestion that I could perhaps also hop over to New York one day during the weekend to see the two sister-friends life chose for me as a teenager. Cool!

What I didn’t know was that God had an even bigger plan.

I believe I have entered the season of healing and reconciliation…this was kicked off by a horrible encounter between my youngest son and I, followed by a blow-up between my mom and I the very next weekend! These two incidents gave me a clarity I have never had, showing me the importance of not just forgiveness, but RELEASE. I have accepted that I will never get a sincere apology from some people – they just don’t think they’ve done anything wrong – so not only must I forgive, I must also release the feelings I harbor about their actions toward me, and if necessary, even release THEM. I could not have imagined how freeing that realization would be, but I also had no idea that God was setting me up; He’s funny like that.

While I waited for my sister to pick me up, she began to fill me in. Apparently, I had been the topic of some conversation and when we stopped for lunch, we were met by two more of my sisters. I laughed about the situation initially, but it really warmed my heart that these long-elusive ladies wanted to be a part of my birthday weekend, taking off of work to see and share time with me – and we had a blast! Sometimes the best times are those that are not choreographed, those moments that move and spread warmth like a spilled cup of tea. I reconnected with two sisters and two cousins Paul Coney gave me, and I got to see my two longtime sister-friends as a bonus. My days were full from 3/24 – 3/27 but more importantly, so was my heart, and I hope the same was true for them.

I don’t worry much about the future now as I am seasoned enough to live one day at a time. The best thing about that is that sometimes, if we’re lucky, “one day” turns into “day one.” Ask me how I know.

BeingAngela

32023

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑