2022 Growth In-Review

As I look around this space I call home, I see many things have changed amidst those that remain the same. Still a two-story, five bedroom house. Most of the furniture hasn’t changed but there have been some enhancements to warm the space.

The Master bathroom had a make-over with new paint, new sink hardware installed and most recently, a cabinet-refreshing. The hallway bathroom has also been painted with new sink hardware installed and a cabinet refreshing. The laundry room has been painted and one of the other bedrooms got a new headboard, new lamps, a fresh coat of paint and a new comforter set with matching curtains. The family room was painted, the kitchen got a fresh coat of paint and cabinet-refreshing and the rotted front door has been replaced, but still some work remains to be done.

Nonetheless, more impressive than the internal décor changes have been the changes to her…me…Angela, the Mistress of the House.

I spent some time with me, probing, poking and exploring my heart and mind, and I enjoyed the company of some very special sister-friends this year. I traveled to the Dominican Republic for my birthday with my sister-friend Jeanne. In April, I traveled to Miami to spend time with longtime friends Melissa and Tracey. In October, I had the pleasure of hosting my biological sister Tracie, and it was a beautiful time of discovery.

These ladies bathed my heart in love. I was at peace and even though some time had passed since I’d spent time with Jeanne, we never skipped a beat. With all of these ladies, I am able to be my authentic self and we laughed, talked and shared our hearts (and adult beverages) as we re-fortified our friendship. I know without a doubt that these friendships will last forever – there is nothing more beautiful than that!

But my time with my blood sister Tracie…wow; THAT time really fortified my heart. It was awesome to discover how much we have in common, how quickly we laugh together – there was no discomfort, only the welcoming home of two hearts who didn’t know how much they are (and need to be) connected. This is also forever but particularly special because we share half of our parentage, but our coming together has made us whole.

This is my year in review – not the mundane, step-by-step, day-to-day details, but the occurrences that overwhelmed and healed my heart, and encouraged me to keep going.

I am indeed Angela; I am seen, I am heard, I am appreciated. I have grown and I am loved.

Can’t wait to see what 2023 has in store as this story continues!

2 thoughts on “2022 Growth In-Review

Add yours

  1. Introspection ❤️ It is those tangible and intangible things that fill our soul. This has been a year of exploration, deepening friendships, trying to understand oneself, and others. Being, and letting others be; seeing and showing….. it has been a wonderful journey with you and I am looking forward to more. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑